Tags

,

Tuesday marked our second KIC action.  But, first allow me to tell you my experience leading up to this particular KIC. It was HILARIOUS!  The day started at the Bank where Steve and I decided to take out some money, (dollar bills) to randomly stash in unexpected places at some of our local discount stores.  After handing over a withdraw slip the teller asked me (in a thick accent from some faraway place), if I, “have a preference in bills”.  I said no thank you and received every size bill other than singles.  By the time I realized this I was too embarrassed to turn around and ask for dollar bills. I was afraid of how the teller might get irritated with me after asking for one’s despite my original intent.  I briskly walked back to the car and told Steven.  He laughed at me and went in to trade the bills.  This timid, bashful, almost suspicious feeling would set my mood for the rest of the day.

The first store we went to we placed the dollars in bags, books, and even in the toy section.  It took me back to when I was a child and I found a dollar on the ground or someone gave me one, (that feeling of excitement) even if it was a dollar, it’s one more than I had when I started the day, right?  That’s exactly the feeling I hope we left our unsuspecting KIC’s with.

We did this at one other discount store and one discount grocery store.  The grocery store was the funniest as I felt like I was on a secret mission.  I must have looked so suspicious.  I would glance at everyone around me ensuring not a single stray eye was trained on me before slipping money between powdered gravy, or into an accessible crease in a package.  I almost felt as though I was doing something wrong.  I imagined an employee might call me out. What would I do?  I thought; I might have to run!  That would be funny!?!?

As we were leaving the store the parking lot was busy with costumers coming and going, so I dropped my last dollar on the ground outside the store.  I tried to be as discrete as possible but Steven was caught unaware, and saw it drop to the ground out of the corner of his eye and said, “oh you dropped-.”, we both laughed!  I can’t help but to wonder who found the KIC’s.  I would have loved to have seen all the faces and known the stories of the people who found our gifts. Out of curiosity, we staked out the very last dollar I dropped.  We watched from the car as several people walked right passed it and didn’t even notice.  Finally an elder man noticed it and even took a second glance but didn’t pick it up.  It made me curious? Why didn’t he pick it up?  Did he think it was real? Was he paying his luck forward and leaving it for someone who really needed it? Either way he left it for another man who identified himself as, “MJ”. MJ walked passed it.  Then his head darted to the ground and he slowly reached down to pick it up.  I had to get the story from him, or at least made Steven flag him down to get some info.  We wrapped each dollar with a card that said, “Please accept this gift, let our random acts of kindness lead to random smiles”. Just as MJ started to walk away Steven approached him. Steven asked if he could talk to him, and asked for a picture or video but MJ was in a bit of a rush because he was on his lunch break.  MJ told him he had a moral obligation to return things that did not belong to him but since it was a gift he was allowed to keep it.  I thought that was an admirable response.  Overall the mission was successful, despite my bashfulness! I really hope we were able to inspire a few smiles.

Everyone smiles in the same language”~ Unknown

